RSS Feed

Dear New York…

Dear New York,

I’m just going to be blunt: I still can’t decide how I feel towards you. I’ve always wanted to visit you and when we finally met, you were definitely everything I expected. You had an amazing energy that I both loved and hated simultaneously (I didn’t know that was even possible!).

You surprised me with your citizens as they have been anything but rude and obnoxious. But then again, I should have known that stereotypes consist mostly of lies. Your people were incredible and they were some of the friendliest I’ve met in all my travels.

The Met blew my mind and I’m sure your other museums are just as good, if not better. I just didn’t have the luxury of time to visit all 80+ of them.

The Metropolitan Museum of Art

Your skyline is expansive, breath-taking, and seemingly endless that the horizon feels far, far away.

Arguably the most famous skyline in the world

And then there is the shopping – you certainly know how to treat this activity well! Rows and rows of stores line your streets, from a HUGE, budget-friendly Joe Fresh to a very swanky Louis Vuitton to a 3-stories chocolate store (M&M’s World), you seem to have it all!

I loved your green spaces scattered throughout the city. The most famous one, of course, is Central Park – a haven for walkers, runners, and bikers with its dedicated tracks.

Central Park: calm & serene

Then there is Bryant Park with its impeccably-dressed, lunch-time crowds and heaps of street musicians.

Bryant Park

We also stumbled upon a friendly, neighbourhood playground with a splash pad for kids (and adults) to cool off in the hot afternoon sun.

Walking with purpose… to the slide!

You spoiled us with your food carts, selling everything from nuts, hot dogs, and pretzels to falafel sandwiches and plates of chicken biryani on rice.

Yet, despite all that, I find myself wanting to get away from everything. At the end of the day, your energy exhausted me and I couldn’t keep up with it. Our hotel at the residential Upper West Side became a calming oasis that I was very glad to return to at the end of the night.

Upper West Side flower shop

I should have known I don’t do well with crowds – I hated Hong Kong, for goodness’ sake.

Crazy energy and crazy crowd

Or maybe I  should have done everything in a much slower pace.

Eh, it’s probably just me, not you.

Nevertheless, I’m very glad to have met you!

Cheers!

One response »

  1. Pingback: Tips and Tricks for Visiting London | lem0nandlime

Leave a Reply

